Award Winners

Hon. Edwin Meese III Award

The Hon. Edwin Meese III Award is bestowed to an individual who has upheld the rule of law in the face of adverse political challenges. The Ed Meese Award is presented at the National Policy Conference each spring in Washington, DC.


Republican Lawyer of the Year Award

Each year, the RNLA bestows the Republican Lawyer of the Year Award on a lawyer for his or her outstanding professional accomplishments and years of dedicated service to the Republican Party and its ideals.


Betty Murphy Award

The Betty Murphy Award this award is given each year to an unsung hero, member, trailblazer, with entrepreneurial spirit, a community service leader, an organization builder who inspires others' efforts.


RNLA Robert J. Horn Chairman's Award

The Robert J. Horn Chairman’s Award is an award presented to individuals for nationally distinguished service to the citizens of the United States of America for protecting the honesty and accuracy of elections. It is presented in honor of the Founding Chairman, who succeeded in significantly advancing the integrity of elections throughout his professional lifetime by founding and promoting the Republican National Lawyers Association. 



Past award winners of the Hon. Edwin Meese III Award include:

2022: Senator Tom Cotton

2021: Senator Mitch McConnell


2019: Senator Lindsey Graham

Manny Iglesias (RNLA Chair) and Senator Lindsey Graham, Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee


2018: Scott Pruitt

Manny Iglesias (RNLA First Vice President) with EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt


2017: Donald F. McGahn III

David Bowsher (RNLA VP for Programming & 2017 NPC Master of Ceremonies), White House Counsel Don McGahn (2017 Ed Meese Award Recipient), Former Attorney General Ed Meese, and Manuel Iglesias (RNLA First Vice President)


2016: Chuck Cooper

Pictured left to right: Chuck Cooper and Dick Wiley (2015 Ed Meese Award recipient)


2015: Dick Wiley

Pictured left to right: Dick Wiley and Former Attorney General John Ashcroft


2014: Michael Mukasey

2013: Fred Fielding

2012: Michael Chertoff

2011: Mayor Rudy Giuliani

2010: Senator Jeff Sessions

2009: Hans Von Spakovsky

2008: C. Boyden Gray

2007: Ambassador John Bolton

2006: Ted Olson

2005: Attorney General John Ashcroft

2004: Judge Ken Starr

2003: Attorney General Ed Meese



Past award winners of the RNLA Republican Lawyer of the Year Award include:

2021: Elliot Berke

Pictured left to right: Rep. Devin Nunes, Elliot Berke, and Leader Kevin McCarthy


2020: Joanne Young

Pictured left to right: RNC Chair Ronna McDaniel and Joanne Young


2019: Lee Goodman


2018: Harmeet Kaur Dhillon

Pictured left to right: Joanne Young, Harmeet Kaur Dhillon, and Laura Ingraham


2017: Larry Levy

Pictured left to right: Larry Levy and 2016 Lawyer of the Year Award Recipient John Ryder


2016: John L. Ryder

Pictured left to right: Mark Braden, Randy Evans, John Ryder, RNC Chairman Reince Priebus, George Terwilliger, and JC Boggs


2015: Bobby Burchfield

Pictured left to right: Elliot Berke and Bobby Burchfield


2014: E. Mark Braden

2013: George J. Terwilliger III

2012: J. Caleb Boggs III

2011: J. Randolph Evans

2010: Charles J. Cooper

2009: James Bopp, Jr.

2008: Theodore B. Olson

2007: Frank J. Fahrenkopf, Jr.

2006: Harvey M. Tettlebaum

2005: Bob Horn & Betty Southard Murphy

2004: Dick Wiley



Past award winners of the Betty Murphy Award include:

2021: Chuck Bell


2020: Brenda Hankins


2019: Mike Davis


2018: Ashley Carter MacLeay


2017: Linda A. Kerns


2016: Kathryn Ciano


2015: Heather Heidelbaugh


2014: Tom Spencer

2013: Brigida Benitez

2012: Nancy Nord

Past award winners of the RNLA Robert J. Horn Chairman's Award include:

2021: Justin Riemer


2020: Harvey M. Tettlebaum

Harvey M. Tettlebaum


2019: Anne Lewis


2018: Ron Hicks


2017: Manuel Iglesias