RNLA Honors Brenda Hankins with Betty Murphy Award

RNLA Honors Brenda M. Hankins with the

Betty Murphy Award

The Republican National Lawyers Association (RNLA) is pleased to announce Brenda M. Hankins as the recipient of the 2020 Betty Murphy Award, which was presented at the National Election Law Seminar on July 11 in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia. Hankins was selected for the Betty Murphy Award as she is an unsung hero, trailblazer, community service leader, and an organization builder who inspires others’ spirits.

Brenda currently serves as Chair of the RNLA Women’s Network and has succeeded in recruiting and mentoring countless female lawyers across the country to make an impact in the conservative movement and as attorneys in all areas of the legal profession. Thanks to her leadership, women in the RNLA are better prepared to advance in their own professional careers and to achieve victories for the Republican Party each election cycle. For the last 8 years she has organized and managed Virginia’s statewide election day legal hotline and response teams.

She brings 20 years of legal and investigative experience to her current position at Election CFO. Brenda provides financial, treasurer and FEC compliance services to campaigns, party committees, political action committees, trade association PACs, and other tax exempt organizations.

She served as the Deputy Director and Counsel for the Office of Legislative Counsel at the Office of General Counsel for the Department of Defense. She has served as a Counsel at the House Committee on the Judiciary, as Legislative Director for J. Randy Forbes (R-VA-04) and as an investigator for the Appropriations Committee’s Surveys and Investigations Team.

Brenda earned her law degree from the Washington College of Law at American University.

In accepting the Betty Murphy Award, Brenda states:

“Betty Murphy led the way for women in the law and co-founded RNLA. I am sure she would appreciate this award recognizing the success of the RNLA Women's Network. It's an honor to join such a distinguished company of past recipients.”

Past winners of the Betty Murphy Award include Michael Davis, Ashley Carter, Linda Kerns, Kathryn Ciano, Heather Heidelbaugh, Tom Spencer, Brigida Benitez, and Nancy Nord.

RNLA is the national organization of Republican attorneys. The mission of RNLA is to advance professionalism; open, fair and honest elections; career opportunity; and Republican ideals. 

Click here for a copy of the press release.