Award Winners

Hon. Edwin Meese III Award

The Hon. Edwin Meese III Award is bestowed to an individual who has upheld the rule of law in the face of adverse political challenges. The Ed Meese Award is presented at the National Policy Conference each spring in Washington, DC.


Republican Lawyer of the Year Award

Each year, the RNLA bestows the Republican Lawyer of the Year Award on a lawyer for his or her outstanding professional accomplishments and years of dedicated service to the Republican Party and its ideals.


Betty Murphy Award

The Betty Murphy Award this award is given each year to an unsung hero, member, trailblazer, with entrepreneurial spirit, a community service leader, an organization builder who inspires others' efforts.


RNLA Robert J. Horn Chairman's Award

The Robert J. Horn Chairman’s Award is an award presented to individuals for nationally distinguished service to the citizens of the United States of America for protecting the honesty and accuracy of elections. It is presented in honor of the Founding Chairman, who succeeded in significantly advancing the integrity of elections throughout his professional lifetime by founding and promoting the Republican National Lawyers Association. 



Past award winners of the Hon. Edwin Meese III Award include:

2023: Paul Clement


2022: Senator Tom Cotton

Chuck Cooper with Senator Tom Cotton


2021: Senator Mitch McConnell


2019: Senator Lindsey Graham

2018: Scott Pruitt

2017: Donald F. McGahn III

2016: Chuck Cooper

2015: Dick Wiley

2014: Michael Mukasey

2013: Fred Fielding

2012: Michael Chertoff

2011: Mayor Rudy Giuliani

2010: Senator Jeff Sessions

2009: Hans Von Spakovsky

2008: C. Boyden Gray

2007: Ambassador John Bolton

2006: Ted Olson

2005: Attorney General John Ashcroft

2004: Judge Ken Starr

2003: Attorney General Ed Meese



Past award winners of the RNLA Republican Lawyer of the Year Award include:

2023: Charlie Spies

RNC Chairwoman Ronna McDaniel with Charlie Spies


2022: Marc Ellinger

RNC Chairwoman Ronna McDaniel with Marc Ellinger


2021: Elliot Berke

Pictured left to right: Rep. Devin Nunes, Elliot Berke, and Leader Kevin McCarthy


2020: Joanne Young

2019: Lee Goodman

2018: Harmeet K. Dhillon

2017: Larry Levy

2016: John L. Ryder

2015: Bobby Burchfield

2014: E. Mark Braden

2013: George J. Terwilliger III

2012: J. Caleb Boggs III

2011: J. Randolph Evans

2010: Charles J. Cooper

2009: James Bopp, Jr.

2008: Theodore B. Olson

2007: Frank J. Fahrenkopf, Jr.

2006: Harvey M. Tettlebaum

2005: Bob Horn & Betty Southard Murphy

2004: Dick Wiley



Past award winners of the Betty Murphy Award include:

2023: Ashlee Titus

Pictured left to right: Heather Heidelbaugh, Ashlee Titus, and Brenda Hankins


2022: Kevin Hanratty

Phil Thomas with Kevin Hanratty


2021: Chuck Bell

Joanne Young with Chuck Bell


2020: Brenda Hankins

2019: Mike Davis

2018: Ashley Carter MacLeay

2017: Linda A. Kerns

2016: Kathryn Ciano

2015: Heather Heidelbaugh

2014: Tom Spencer

2013: Brigida Benitez

2012: Nancy Nord

Past award winners of the RNLA Robert J. Horn Chairman's Award include:

2023: Chris Marston

Harmeet Dhillon with Chris Marston


2022: Bilenda Harris-Ritter

Bilenda Harris-Ritter with Harmeet Dhillon


2021: Justin Riemer

Pictured left to right: Michael Thielen, Justin Riemer, and Larry Levy


2020: Harvey M. Tettlebaum

2019: Anne Lewis

2018: Ron Hicks

2017: Manuel Iglesias