RNLA Honors Kevin Hanratty as the 2022 Recipient of the Betty Murphy Award

The Republican National Lawyers Association (RNLA) is pleased to announce that Kevin Hanratty is the recipient of the 2022 Betty Murphy Award, which will be presented at the National Policy Conference on April 1, in Arlington, Virginia. Kevin is a banking consultant and attorney in Queens, New York, where he serves as a member of the New York City Districting Commission.  Kevin has been a long-time leader of the RNLA’s New York Chapter. 

The Betty Murphy Award is given each year to an unsung hero, member, trailblazer, with entrepreneurial spirit, a community service leader, an organization builder who inspires others' efforts.

Immediate Past RNLA Chair and lifetime New Yorker Larry Levy congratulated Kevin saying: “Kevin Hanratty is the perfect recipient of the Betty Murphy Award, as he is the embodiment of everything the award recognizes.  He is truly an unsung hero. Kevin chairs the New York Chapter of RNLA, where he is always the first to volunteer, and the last to seek recognition. Kevin also volunteers for several other Republican and civic organizations, including being an indefatigable campaign volunteer.  He inspires others with his great attitude and easy demeanor. Kevin is also recognized by his peers as an excellent lawyer and manager, although he is too modest to admit it.  And, he may be the only practicing lawyer in New York City whose name receives universal respect and praise.”

RNLA Executive Director Michael Thielen concluded: “Kevin is one of the best and brightest RNLA leaders.  In the often divisive world of New York politics, Kevin is respected and beloved by all factions.  While there are many examples, for the sake of brevity two will have to suffice.  He helped organize the largest chapter event in our history, for Ted Olson in 2008. In 2013 he helped arrange for the New York City Board of Elections to engage RNLA leaders to help train poll workers to ensure a better and more transparent election process.  While Kevin is the quintessential New Yorker, he is also one of the nicest and most modest lawyers I have ever had the privilege of working with in my 21 years at RNLA.”

Other past winners of the Betty Murphy Award include now-RNC Committeewoman Brigida Benitez, Mike Davis, Heather Heidelbaugh, and Ashley MacLeay.  A complete list is here.   

There is still time to register for the 2022 National Policy Conference this Friday.